BB Squared: Beautiful Brains, Bold Bodies

Starting and Celebrating Conversations About Differences

On Belonging March 15, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — beautifulbrainsboldbodies @ 6:56 am

I was talking to a friend the other day about our times at Beckwith Hall, the dormitory I lived in during my undergraduate studies that was designed specifically for persons with physical differences. Each time I talk about that place, or stalk the Facebook pages of people I lived with or still live in that community now, or are connected to it in some way, I ache. Of miss specific people, but the biggest thing I miss is the sense that I belonged there. I lived with people who understood my life, either directly because they had a physical difference, or, in the case of the Personal Support Workers, indirectly because the people the people they spent a ton of their time with had physical differences. I’m spoiled, because I have chosen to work with people with differences in my profession, so I can sense the community forming around me in my various volunteer positions and personal relationships, not to mention between Jill, Aaron, and myself. Still, whenever I am in a situation where I sense that people want to know me, but just are unsure of how to go about it, I long to invite them to activities including my friends with differences. Come, I ache to say. Come see this important piece of who I am, and let me show you how we are both beautifully similar and fabulously different from you. I guess what I am trying to say is that I desire both to be part of a community of people who share my experience, or aspects of it, and to invite other people to witness the beauty of that community.

This, I believe, is the goal of BB Squared, to create a community where people with differences feel like they belong, as well as a place where people without differences can see the talents and gifts we possess. Again, we are not yet sure what form this will take, but as we figure it out, we hope you will join us.

 

One Response to “On Belonging”

  1. Emily Says:

    awesome! glad i found your blog!


Leave a Reply

