BB Squared: Beautiful Brains, Bold Bodies

Starting and Celebrating Conversations About Differences

In Which I Get Real February 23, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — beautifulbrainsboldbodies @ 8:26 am

This is a week where I felt like I had to have a special mantra in my head as I was blogging: this is not my personal blog, this is not my personal blog, this is not my personal blog.  But then I thought, what the heck, let’s get real, I don’t like my difference a ton this week.  I’d give anything to be able to live on my own, drive myself to a date without my parents knowing a thing about it, or have complete control over my hair and outfit today. I’m telling you this because I don’t think these feelings should or will be excluded from future discussions or endeavours at BB Squared. Jill and I aren’t out of touch with what makes our differences difficult for ourselves and other people, there are indeed days when we are frustrated with our respective brains (and body in my case). And we won’t hide the truth from Aaron either; it’s possible that right now he is under the impression that for me every day with my difference is sunshine and roses, but over the years as our friendship grows I’m sure he will get a much more realistic picture of how I feel.

BB Squared is about helping to make life with differences the best that it can be, but it is not about making life with them sound unrealistically good. Every human knows that there are both good and bad things about life, and BB Squared does not intend to minimize that. We want to be a place where both the good and bad stuff is addressed, partly so that we can be a resource for solutions – or point people to other resources – but partly so that the people we serve simply know that we hear them. After all, helping is about both these things.

 

Leave a Reply

