BB Squared: Beautiful Brains, Bold Bodies

Starting and Celebrating Conversations About Differences

On Asking Questions February 16, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — beautifulbrainsboldbodies @ 9:31 am

As you may have guessed by now, I love to read blogs. As such, inspired by this post at a blog called Rage Against the Minivan about whether it is OK to ask if one’s children are adopted, I thought I would tell you about how I feel when people ask me questions about being different. Honestly, as long as it with genuine interest and not because someone is trying to be rude, ask away! I have spoken about my difference to children and adults of many different ages and it is always a delight for me to do so; I hope to do so more in the future with BB Squared. I am not intimidated by people asking me questions of a very personal nature (such as questions about how I use the bathroom). Again if they want to know out of genuine interest, I am happy to share.

I think this comes from – as I’ve said indicated several times on the blog – the fact that I love my difference. I love that it makes me unique and gives me a different perspective that people want to hear. In situations where I am comfortable, such as when people inquire about my disability, I am not shy, so I am not fazed by interest. Again, this is not everyone’s experience, some people are not comfortable disclosing a lot of information, and others have perhaps had a bad experience when it comes to conversations about their differences. I respect that, and sometime soon I’d love to do a follow-up post and ask people whom I know with differences how they feel about being asked questions and what they feel is the right way to approach the subject. In the meantime, what are your thoughts? I’d love to hear them!

 

Leave a Reply

